Many Arizona high school football fans are very confused at the moment. Over the last several years the largest high schools in the state competed in low divisions of Division I, II and III. The smaller schools were the higher divisions such as IV and V. Now we are going backwards. In 2016, the largest high schools will be in the high divisions 6A, 5A and 4A with the smaller schools being in the lower divisions – 3A, 2A and 1A.

We know, it is extremely confusing. Fortunately, we are working on getting you all the Arizona High School football schedules with the proper regions and divisions. All you need to know is that 6A is comprised of the largest high schools and 1A is the smallest. This is the way it is in several states including Texas, Georgia and North Carolina.

Below find the names of the regions for the largest divisions in Arizona high school football:

6A Regions for 2016 & 2017
Central East Valley Fiesta
Corona del Sol Dobson Basha
Desert Ridge Mesa Brophy
Desert Vista Mountain View (Mesa) Chandler
Gilbert Red Mountain Hamilton
Highland Skyline Perry
Mountain Pointe Westwood
Metro Desert Valley Southwest Tucson/Yuma
Alhambra Boulder Creek Copper Canyon Cibola
Central Desert Mountain La Joya Kofa
Cesar Chavez Horizon Millennium Rincon
Maryvale Mountain Ridge Tolleson Sunnyside
North O’Connor Valley Vista Tucson
Trevor Browne Pinnacle Westview

Note that regions are now names or areas rather than numbers. This will be confusing to those that are used to seeing numbers beside each region.

5A Regions for 2016 & 2017
East Valley 1 East Valley 2 Metro Northwest
Arcadia Campo Verde Apollo Centennial
Chaparral Mesquite Ironwood Liberty
North Canyon Queen Creek Kellis Shadow Ridge
Notre Dame Vista Grande Maricopa Sierra Linda
Paradise Valley Williams Field McClintock Willow Canyon
  5A REGIONS for 2016 & 2017
Phoenix Sonoran Southern Desert West
Camelback Cholla Buena Agua Fria
Carl Hayden Desert View Cienega Deer Valley
Fairfax Flowing Wells Ironwood Ridge Desert Edge
Glendale Marana Mountain View (Marana) Goldwater
Independence Poston Butte Sahuaro Lake Havasu
South Mountain Verrado

If the high school you are looking for is not listing above please leave a comment below and we will make certain you know which region your team will be playing in in 2016 and 2017.